Rural Commentary

Sunday, 02 December 2012 11:20

What inflates rural house prices?

NEW research suggests that the type of housing available in rural areas is what most explains its lack of affordability, finds Brian Wilson.

Sunday, 11 November 2012 13:08

Rural development approaches

RURAL communities need capacity-building support if they are all to meet the challenge of austerity, writes Brian Wilson.

Sunday, 23 September 2012 08:39

Mobile broadband demand set to rise

DEMAND for mobile access to broadband will continue to grow rapidly in rural areas, writes Brian Wilson.

Friday, 31 August 2012 07:13

Rural health needs rural dimension

NEW guidance aimed at local authorities assuming public health responsibilities is helpful, but it needs a rural dimension, argues Brian Wilson.

Sunday, 11 March 2012 21:28

Welfare reform for rural housing?

ARE there any issues coming out of welfare reform for those in rural housing? Stuart Davies finds out.

Monday, 23 January 2012 22:05

Time for a change?

SHOULD the government heed MPs' advice and make significant changes to its draft planning policy?

Monday, 12 December 2011 10:03

What benefit from the Right to Buy?

The revitalised Right to Buy - what does it mean for rural communities? Stuart Davies investigates.

Sunday, 03 July 2011 07:46

We need affordable rural homes

Tuesday, 15 March 2011 22:52

The Big Society - a Big Con?

Is the Big Society failing to deliver? Yes, says Gordon Morris.

Sunday, 03 October 2010 09:12

Rights of way 'must remain open'

AXING rights of way services would devastate the rural economy, argues Marilyn Meeks.

Wednesday, 01 September 2010 07:09

Rural shops need ombudsman now

A supermarket ombudsman would help rural retailers thrive, says Ken Parsons.

Wednesday, 28 July 2010 07:09

Big doubts about the “Big Society”

Rural expert Gordon Morris has big doubts about the government's drive for a “Big Society”.


also_1

Parliamentary Group
For the All-Party Parliamentary Group on Rural Services, click here.
 


Our Events

Our Events
For Rural Services Network events and notable dates, click here.