Community

Friday, 12 January 2018 19:53

Post offices given community status

Some 3000 post office counters have been designated “community branches” as they deliver services to rural residents, says the government.

Thursday, 11 January 2018 12:00

Rural views sought on community rail

RURAL residents are being urged to respond to a Department for Transport consultation on community railways.

Thursday, 04 January 2018 22:12

Campaign combats winter loneliness

A NEW campaign is helping to combat rural loneliness this winter.

Rural households spend about £3000 more per year than their urban counterparts on essentials, suggests a study.

Monday, 18 December 2017 11:23

Prince's fund plans rural research

The Prince’s Countryside Fund has announced a major project examining the sustainability of rural communities.

Wednesday, 13 December 2017 13:48

Rural funding still available

Rural businesses and communities are reminded that there is still time to apply for funding under the Rural Development Plan for England.

Tuesday, 12 December 2017 13:13

£25m fund to build more homes

The government has unveiled a £25 million fund to help local authorities to deliver more homes.

Wednesday, 29 November 2017 07:30

Rural places among worst for social mobility

Rural and coastal areas are among the worst performing when it comes to social mobility, says a government report.

Wednesday, 22 November 2017 22:59

£417k for rural arts initiative

A PROJECT to bring arts and dance to rural communities has received a further £417,000 in funding.

Thursday, 16 November 2017 20:17

Chancellor urged to keep pubs afloat

MPs have called on the Government for a Budget they say would help keep pubs rural in business.

Monday, 13 November 2017 07:22

Decline in services threatens rural life

Rural life is in decline because countryside pubs, schools and post offices are closing, says a report.

Friday, 10 November 2017 22:52

Residents urged to build own homes

RURAL communities are being encouraged to take the lead on developing affordable homes in Northumberland.