Community

Monday, 12 January 2015 09:26

Petition to save community councils

More than 5000 people have signed a petition against proposals to withdraw government funding from England's 38 rural community councils.

Friday, 09 January 2015 22:30

Stronger role for parish councils?

NEW measures aim to make it easier for community groups to set up a town or parish council.

Friday, 02 January 2015 10:45

Rural honours in New Year list

THE 2015 New Year Honours list contains a number of awards for people working with rural communities.

Wednesday, 31 December 2014 21:07

Project to tackle rural unemployment

A PILOT project in Northumberland is taking a new approach to help unemployed rural residents find work.

Tuesday, 23 December 2014 09:29

Revealed: most desirable places to live

RURAL districts are among the most desirable places to live, reveals the latest quality of life survey.

Friday, 12 December 2014 11:11

Guide tackles rural housing crisis

A GUIDE promoting affordable rural homes has been launched by the Rural Housing Alliance and Rural Services Network.

Saturday, 06 December 2014 15:21

Groups unite for rural communities

RURAL organisations have come together to warn that the priorities of rural communities risk being sidelined.

Tuesday, 02 December 2014 09:03

Rural housing decision is 'huge blow'

A GOVERNMENT decision means developers will no longer have to provide affordable housing on many smaller rural sites.

Thursday, 20 November 2014 08:02

Council's pledge for rural youngsters

A COUNTY council has backed a call for action to stem the flow of young people from rural areas.

Wednesday, 19 November 2014 09:26

Moped loan scheme up for award

A SCHEME which loans scooters and motorcycles to help people get to work is in the running for an award.

Sunday, 16 November 2014 13:01

Views sought on deprivation indices

THE government is inviting views from rural stakeholders before updating its deprivation indices.

Sunday, 16 November 2014 12:51

Revealed: High cost of rural homes

RURAL homes are more expensive than urban homes in all regions of England, reveals the latest research.