Community

Monday, 02 August 2010 19:12

£400k cinema scheme unveiled

A £400,000 scheme aims to bring the latest in digital cinema to venues across rural North Yorkshire.

Monday, 02 August 2010 05:01

Call to back creative countryside

HARNESSING the untapped creative potential of the countryside could generate more than £1bn a year, says a report.

Wednesday, 28 July 2010 14:54

£200m trust boosts rural England

NEGLECTED rural communities are set to benefit from a £200m charitable trust, it has emerged.

Tuesday, 27 July 2010 00:46

'Vital' contribution of village halls

VILLAGE halls can make an important contribution to the rural economy, says a report.

Monday, 26 July 2010 00:35

Jury out on rural ‘right-to-build’

LETTING rural people build their own homes without planning consent may not create better communities, experts have warned.

Friday, 23 July 2010 12:45

Villagers to get housing powers

RURAL people will be allowed to build their own homes without planning permission in areas where there is a housing shortage.

Tuesday, 13 July 2010 14:21

Young 'forced out of countryside'

HIGH house prices are forcing youngsters to move out of the countryside, campaigners have warned.

Tuesday, 06 July 2010 00:01

State of countryside 2010 unveiled

STRONG rural communities can compensate for a lack of local services, claims the latest State of the Countryside report.

Monday, 05 July 2010 07:35

Prince Charles launches rural fund

PRINCE Charles has launched an initiative to help Britain's vulnerable rural communities.

Thursday, 01 July 2010 12:12

Green light for housing trusts

LOCAL communities are to build their own homes without having to lodge specific planning applications.

Tuesday, 22 June 2010 09:59

Network boost for rural housing

A NEW network aims to help rural communities provide affordable housing for local residents.

Tuesday, 15 June 2010 07:04

Watchdog calls for upland strategy

THE government’s rural watchdog has called for a new strategy to revitalise England’s upland communities.