Community

Sunday, 26 September 2010 09:26

No let-up in rural pub closures

ALMOST 900 pubs closed down in rural Britain last year, according to the latest figures.

Tuesday, 21 September 2010 15:54

Call for evidence on rural housing

THE Commission for Rural Communities has issued a call for evidence on the state of rural housing.
Thursday, 16 September 2010 16:02

Supporters step in to save pubs

DOZENS of villages left stranded by a cancelled scheme to save rural pubs are to receive help after all.

Monday, 06 September 2010 06:37

Heat-map highlights fuel poverty

ENGLAND'S most fuel-poor rural areas have been identified in a first-of-its-kind heat map.

Tuesday, 31 August 2010 18:35

Oil 'tagged' to combat rural theft

RURAL residents are adding a special liquid to domestic heating oil so they can detect whether it has been stolen.

Thursday, 12 August 2010 05:07

Vulnerable rural England revealed

RURAL people are finding innovative ways to boost their income as countryside communities struggle to shake off the recession.

Wednesday, 11 August 2010 11:34

Summit to salvage pub scheme

A £3.3m fund to help stem local pub closures has been axed before a penny was paid out.

Saturday, 07 August 2010 16:16

£250k boost for affordable homes

A TRUST set up to help people build their own homes has received a £250,000 investment.

Friday, 06 August 2010 05:26

Big Society: Rural role is 'vital'

THE countryside must not be overlooked as the government strives to create a Big Society, rural leaders have warned.

Wednesday, 04 August 2010 06:03

£400k cinema scheme unveiled

A £400,000 scheme aims to bring the latest in digital cinema to venues across rural North Yorkshire.

Monday, 02 August 2010 19:12

£400k cinema scheme unveiled

A £400,000 scheme aims to bring the latest in digital cinema to venues across rural North Yorkshire.

Monday, 02 August 2010 05:01

Call to back creative countryside

HARNESSING the untapped creative potential of the countryside could generate more than £1bn a year, says a report.