Community

Sunday, 08 February 2015 21:23

Church debates rural mission plan

AN URGENT review is needed so church people have more time for mission in rural communities, says a report.

Thursday, 05 February 2015 12:10

Communities welcome 'rural proofing' review

RURAL communities have welcomed an independent review of the government's approach to 'rural proofing'.

Wednesday, 28 January 2015 19:40

Councils share 'more for less' funding

THE government has awarded £2m to councils it says "deliver more for less" by working with local communities.

Monday, 26 January 2015 08:32

Defra confirms ACRE Network funding

THE government has confirmed that it will continue to fund England's network of rural community councils.

Saturday, 24 January 2015 09:59

Get set for British High Street awards

MARKET towns and villages are being urged to prepare for the Great British High Streets competition.

Friday, 23 January 2015 18:50

Village SOS workshops launched

A £1.4m nationwide campaign aims to inspire people who want to improve life in their communities.

Sunday, 18 January 2015 21:30

Thousands support community councils

A PETITION against proposals to withdraw funding from England's 38 rural community councils is growing by 1,000 names every day.

Wednesday, 14 January 2015 19:48

'Serious risk' to affordable housing

PLANNING rules lowering requirements for affordable housing provision will lead to a rural housing crisis, say England's national park chiefs.

Monday, 12 January 2015 09:26

Petition to save community councils

More than 5000 people have signed a petition against proposals to withdraw government funding from England's 38 rural community councils.

Friday, 09 January 2015 22:30

Stronger role for parish councils?

NEW measures aim to make it easier for community groups to set up a town or parish council.

Friday, 02 January 2015 10:45

Rural honours in New Year list

THE 2015 New Year Honours list contains a number of awards for people working with rural communities.

Wednesday, 31 December 2014 21:07

Project to tackle rural unemployment

A PILOT project in Northumberland is taking a new approach to help unemployed rural residents find work.