Environment

Friday, 15 August 2014 22:27

Unveiled: £200m brownfield site plan

A £200m government fund aims to protect the countryside from development by making it easier to build on brownfield sites.

Friday, 27 June 2014 19:44

Minister backs flood alleviation work

RURAL affairs secretary Owen Paterson visited Wiltshire to reaffirm the government's support for local efforst to improve flood alleviation.

Monday, 14 April 2014 12:56

Coastal path 'will boost economies'

TOURISM and local communities will benefit from two newly opened stretches of the England Coast Path, says the government.

Sunday, 16 March 2014 20:43

Council calls for sky lanterns debate

A RURAL local authority is backing a national campaign calling for a ban on the use of sky lanterns.

Thursday, 06 March 2014 22:29

Reform 'will provide more rural housing'

PLANNING reforms will provide more rural housing without building on the countryside, says the government.

Monday, 03 March 2014 14:34

Call to 'rescue' green spaces

THE Open Spaces Society has urged local council clerks to be active in rescuing green spaces in their communities.

Wednesday, 29 January 2014 14:14

Car litter louts face punishment

COUNTRYSIDE campaigners have welcomed news that motorists will be fined for throwing litter from vehicles.

Wednesday, 06 November 2013 22:06

Biodiversity plan must be 'made to work'

BUILDERS could offset the environmental impact of their developments by paying farmers to create rural wildlife habitats.

Sunday, 27 October 2013 22:54

Rural towns 'are happiest'

PEOPLE living in market towns have the highest levels of life satisfaction, suggests new statistics.

Thursday, 17 October 2013 12:16

Split over rural building proposals

COUNTRYSIDE campaigners are divided over proposals that would make it easier to convert agricultural buildings into houses.

Tuesday, 08 October 2013 10:35

Clampdown on scrap metal theft

NEW laws making it harder for thieves to dispose of stolen scrap metal have been welcomed by rural businesses.

Friday, 04 October 2013 19:39

Clash over rural housing measures

CHANGES aimed at making it easier to build housing in rural towns and villages have met a mixed reaction.