Environment

Monday, 16 September 2013 11:20

Experts explore landscape opportunities

RURAL experts will explore the economic, social and environmental opportunities provided by the South Pennines landscape.

Monday, 02 September 2013 08:49

Planning guidance system launched

ONLINE guidance will simplify the planning system and encourage more community involvement, says the government.

Sunday, 18 August 2013 19:21

Call for village green protection

Countryside campaigners have called for public paths, common land and village greens to be protected when land is sold.

A MAJOR road building progamme threatens to devastate the rural environment, say countryside campaigners.

Sunday, 09 June 2013 21:23

Locals to have say on wind farms

COMMUNITIES will have a greater say over the siting of onshore wind farms, the government has announced.

ENGLAND'S National Parks are worth as much as the UK aerospace industry to the economy, says a report.

Saturday, 11 May 2013 09:47

Split over change to planning rules

Changes to planning rules will make it easier to bring redundant rural buildings back into use.

Monday, 29 April 2013 10:17

Cheaper energy in return for fracking?

CHEAPER energy bills could be offered to rural communities that agree to local shale-gas extraction.

Monday, 11 March 2013 11:19

'Yes' vote for first neighbourhood plan

RESIDENTS have voted a resounding 'yes' in the UK's first neighbourhood plan referendum.

Sunday, 10 February 2013 20:19

Rural warning over flood defences

A £2.3bn government investment in flood defences continues to discriminate against rural areas, business leaders have warned.

Saturday, 26 January 2013 11:49

Split over changes to planning rules

PROPOSALS to ease planning rules will put the countryside at risk, say conservationists.

Monday, 21 January 2013 06:53

Councils face pothole nightmare

RURAL business leaders are urging councils not to cut back on repairs to roads damaged by freezing temperatures.