Politics

Friday, 11 May 2012 20:40

Watchdog slams regional growth fund

THE government's £1.4bn regional growth fund is failing to deliver value for money, says the official financial watchdog.

Friday, 11 May 2012 19:56

MP: Remember rural communities

FORGOTTEN rural communities must be treated more fairly, an MP has warned.

Thursday, 10 May 2012 09:33

Plan to overhaul local audits

A BILL to establish new arrangements for auditing local bodies was included in the Queen's Speech.

Friday, 27 April 2012 17:21

Rural networks are 'bringing benefits'

MINISTERS are continuing to seek meetings with 17 rural networks set up as a 'hotline to the heart of government'.

Thursday, 19 April 2012 12:56

MPs call for fairer rural deal

MPs have called for a fairer deal from the government for rural communities.

Saturday, 14 April 2012 13:30

MPs debate support for rural areas

GOVERNMENT support for rural communities is to be debated by MPs.

Tuesday, 03 April 2012 08:59

Three more rural networks unveiled

THREE new networks have been unveiled to help ensure government policies are rural-friendly.

Tuesday, 27 March 2012 21:09

Planning framework unveiled at last

THE government has unveiled the long-awaited final version of its National Planning Policy Framework.

Thursday, 22 March 2012 23:11

'Thousands of jobs' from rural growth

A £15m project to boost the rural economy will create more than 3,000 jobs and 700 businesses, claims the government.

Thursday, 22 March 2012 13:07

Little rural cheer from latest Budget

RURAL communities are unlikely to benefit from the government's latest budget, stakeholders have warned.

Tuesday, 28 February 2012 11:14

Vacancies for Defra advisors

DEFRA is recruiting new members to five positions on the department's Civil Society Advisory Board.

Sunday, 12 February 2012 01:59

Retain rural watchdog, say Lib Dems

THE Liberal Democrats have urged the government to abandon plans to abolish the Commission for Rural Communities.