Politics

Monday, 14 January 2013 16:10

MPs rally for fairer rural funding

A CROSS-PARTY group of MPs has called on the government to reconsider the impact its funding settlement will have on rural communities.

Sunday, 30 December 2012 00:33

'Rural rebellion against spending cuts'

A NEW YEAR rebellion is to be launched against "grossly unfair" spending cuts set to "crucify" rural communities.

Thursday, 20 December 2012 12:01

Rural areas hit hardest by council cuts

RURAL communities will bear the brunt of government cuts making it even harder for councils to maintain services.

Sunday, 09 December 2012 19:20

Defra still 'developing' rural proofing

THE government says it is continuing to develop new guidelines requiring departments to consider the rural impact of their policies.

Sunday, 02 December 2012 20:54

Rural fears ahead of Autumn Statement

RURAL residents are calling on the government to abandon its planned rise in fuel duty.

Monday, 12 November 2012 17:30

Rural Statement lacks lustre, MPs told

THE government should give a more robust commitment to rural communities, MPs have been told.

Friday, 09 November 2012 13:12

New rural strategy for east Yorkshire

A RURAL strategy highlighting goals for local communities has been launched in the East Riding of Yorkshire.

Friday, 02 November 2012 08:09

Council backs minister on wind farms

ONE of England's largest rural counties has welcomed comments by a government minister who urged an end to the spread of wind farms across the country.

Sunday, 28 October 2012 21:20

Inquiry asks: What next for localism?

PARISH councils have launched an inquiry asking the question: What next for localism?

Friday, 19 October 2012 06:54

Finance settlement now later still

LOCAL authorities must now wait until late December to find out how much money they are allocated by the government.

Wednesday, 10 October 2012 15:09

Minister targets illegal travellers sites

PLANS to give councils greater freedom to prevent unauthorised traveller sites being set up have been unveiled by the government.

Friday, 28 September 2012 21:36

Finance settlement is later this year

LOCAL authorities must wait longer this year to find out how much money they are allocated by the government.