Services

Monday, 30 October 2017 10:17

Biofuel 'could heat rural homes'

Many rural homes could be heated by vegetable oil within the next five years, claims an industry report.

The government is expected to consult on rules affecting rural community transport providers this autumn.

Friday, 27 October 2017 09:15

Council to tackle rural fuel poverty

A major project to tackle rural fuel poverty is to be funded by one of England's largest county councils.

Wednesday, 25 October 2017 09:46

Novel approach maintains rural roadsides

A county council is minimising verge growth on rural roadsides – and saving money at the same time.

Monday, 23 October 2017 08:10

Pledge to speed up mobile coverage

The government has pledged to speed up the rollout of faster mobile and broadband services to rural areas.

Sunday, 15 October 2017 21:04

Villagers take over rural petrol station

A group of rural residents have taken over their local petrol station in a bid to save it from closure.

Thursday, 12 October 2017 20:39

£20,000 'Golden hello" for rural GPs

TRAINEE doctors are to receive £20,000 to work in rural and coastal communities struggling to recruit GPs.

Wednesday, 11 October 2017 21:38

Rural MP slams government on broadband

Former Liberal Democrat leader Tim Farron has criticised the government for failing rural people on broadband.

Tuesday, 10 October 2017 22:28

Wellbeing and the countryside exhibition

A new exhibition explores the complex relationships between wellbeing and the countryside.

Friday, 06 October 2017 11:56

Special week targets rural crime

POLICE, councillors and local residents have teamed for a week of action against rural crime in Northamptonshire.

Wednesday, 04 October 2017 21:46

Focus on broadband reliability, not speed

RURAL broadband provision should focus on reliable connections rather than high speeds, says a report.

Tuesday, 03 October 2017 19:16

Council bid to combat rural isolation

A RURAL council has launched a special group to combat loneliness in the countryside.