Services

Friday, 15 September 2017 09:17

Changes to school funding confirmed

Rural schools will gain up to 5% in funding under a plans for a fairer national funding formula, says the government.

Thursday, 14 September 2017 00:20

Will travel hubs help rural transport?

A new network of travel hubs could give rural residents better access to public transport services.

Wednesday, 13 September 2017 07:24

Vehicles seized in crime crackdown

Police from six regions across northern England have joined forces for a rural crime crackdown.

Tuesday, 12 September 2017 07:19

£7.25m to extend rural broadband

Cheshire East Council will receive a share of £7.25m of funding to extend the roll-out of faster broadband in the borough.

Saturday, 09 September 2017 19:40

£645m to help speed up rural broadband

The government says up to £645m will help bring superfast broadband to the UK's most remote areas.

Wednesday, 06 September 2017 06:53

Health services are top rural concern

Rural residents are more concerned about declining healthcare services than any other issue, reveal the preliminary results of a wide-ranging survey.

Tuesday, 05 September 2017 21:33

Police join forces against rural crime

Police across three counties have joined forces in an operation targeting rural crime and poaching.

Saturday, 02 September 2017 13:45

Pilot areas to trial full fibre broadband

Six areas have been named to pilot a scheme to bring full fibre broadband to businesses, schools and hospitals.

Monday, 28 August 2017 18:13

£2.2m for rural broadband scheme

Up to 2,000 homes could benefit from £2.2m to bring faster broadband to remote Northumberland communities.

Thursday, 24 August 2017 18:43

Police quadbikes combat rural crime

Police have taken delivery of two quadbikes to combat rural crime in one of England's most rural counties.

Friday, 11 August 2017 13:58

Efficiency key to combat energy bills

Energy efficient homes are the key to keeping fuel costs low for rural residents, say housing experts.

Monday, 07 August 2017 10:27

Licence concern for community transport

Rural community transport operators may face extra licence requirements, the government has suggested.