Services

Tuesday, 09 January 2018 20:33

Rural homes 'face higher fuel bills'

Government green energy proposals could force up rural heating bills, claim oil companies.

Monday, 08 January 2018 08:03

Pressure mounts over fairer funding

The government is facing renewed calls for fairer funding for rural communities.

Friday, 05 January 2018 08:59

Rural police receive less funding

Rural areas continue to receive less police funding than urban areas, says the Rural Services Network.

Thursday, 04 January 2018 13:10

'Travel hubs' to connect rural villages

Three villages could become “rural travel hubs” to improve rural transport in Cambridgeshire.

Thursday, 28 December 2017 09:49

Bigger team to combat rural crime

A rural crime team in Derbyshire has helped resolve crimes worth £120,000 in its first six months.

Wednesday, 27 December 2017 12:55

Rural residents fear fuel poverty

Crippling fuel bills mean many rural householders are too scared to put their heating on.

Friday, 22 December 2017 10:16

Rural cash machine fears rejected

The UK's biggest ATM network has rejected claims that changes in its fee structure could result in the widespread loss of cash machines in rural locations.

Thursday, 21 December 2017 21:40

Faster broadband to be legal right

Everyone in the UK will have a legal right to broadband speeds of at least 10Mbps by 2020, the government has announced.

The Rural Services Network has given a cautious welcome to the government's provisional local finance settlement for local authorities.

Friday, 15 December 2017 12:25

Million homes lack decent broadband

MORE than 1 million homes and businesses still lack decent broadband – especially in rural areas, says a report.

Wednesday, 13 December 2017 13:07

Broadband survey for Devon businesses

Local authorities in Devon are asking local businesses to complete a broadband survey.

Saturday, 09 December 2017 13:44

Warning over cash machine closures

Consumer group Which? has warned that widespread ATM closures could leave people without cash.