Services

Monday, 06 December 2010 10:44

Plan for super-fast rural broadband

THE government has unveiled plans to speed up rural internet connections as it strives to create Europe's best broadband network.

Sunday, 05 December 2010 13:19

Pressure mounts on library services

RURAL library services are facing closure as local authorities struggle to make ends meet.

Friday, 03 December 2010 17:45

Faster broadband for market towns

SOME 40 rural market towns will benefit from BT's latest plan for super-fast broadband, claims the telecom giant.

Wednesday, 01 December 2010 19:26

Radical plan to shake-up police

PEOPLE will be able to elect representatives to oversee their local police force, the government has announced.

Sunday, 28 November 2010 21:11

Fears for rural bus services

RURAL people will be hard hit by plans to change the way bus operators are reimbursed for allowing over-60s to travel free.

Saturday, 27 November 2010 11:27

Satellite aims to bridge digital divide

EUROPE'S first satellite dedicated to delivering broadband services has launched successfully.

Monday, 22 November 2010 08:42

Worst broadband 'notspot' identified

A BROADBAND comparison website claims to have identified the village with Britain's slowest internet connection.

Sunday, 07 November 2010 11:08

Archbishop fears for rural services

THE Archbishop of Canterbury has warned the government against cutting vital rural services.

Tuesday, 26 October 2010 14:52

'Greenest pub' reopens at last

A HEREFORDSHIRE pub dubbed the greenest pub in England has reopened after being closed for five years.

Monday, 25 October 2010 11:12

Innovate and save, councils urged

LOCAL authorities are being urged to take an innovative approach to services following the government's spending review.

Friday, 22 October 2010 11:25

Rural broadband pilot areas named

FOUR rural areas have been selected to pilot the next generation of high-speed broadband in the countryside.

Thursday, 21 October 2010 09:26

Spending review hits rural services

Analyst Robert Bullard looks at the impact of the government's spending review on rural areas.