Saturday, 09 October 2010 20:17

Labour shadow cabinet unveiled

Written by  Ruralcity Media
Labour shadow cabinet unveiled

WAKEFIELD MP Mary Creagh has been appointed shadow DEFRA secretary by Labour leader Ed Miliband.

Born and brought up in Coventry, Ms Creagh attended comprehensive school before studying modern languages at Oxford.

Before being elected as an MP, she taught entrepreneurship at Cranfield University's School of Management for seven years.

A councillor in her spare time, she also spent seven years as a trustee for Rathbone, a charity providing training for disadvantaged young people.

Since her election in 2005, she successfully campaigned to get fizzy drinks banned from school vending machines.

Ms Creagh is joined in the shadow cabinet by Caroline Flint, who has been appointed shadow secretary for communities and local government.

A former housing minister, Ms Flint has been MP for Don Valley since 1997.

She said: “It is our intention to be a reasonable, purposeful opposition – we won’t oppose just to court popularity.

Ms Flint said she feared the coalition government’s approach to tackling the deficit was rash and reckless.

And she warned: “Important local services may be sacrificed in their drive to reduce the deficit, whatever the cost.”

Mr Miliband said the shadow cabinet had been drawn from a broad range of talents across the Labour Party.

“My team is united in one central mission for the future – to win back the trust of the British people and take Labour back to power.

“Together, this new generation of Labour will work together to reject the pessimism of this coalition government.

He added: “This shadow cabinet will ensure that the hopes and concerns of working families are at the heart of our offer to the country.”

The full shadow cabinet is as follows:

  • Leader of the Opposition - Ed Miliband
  • Deputy Leader / Shadow International Development - Harriet Harman
  • Shadow Chancellor - Alan Johnson
  • Shadow Foreign Minister / Minister for Women - Yvette Cooper
  • Shadow Secretary Home - Ed Balls
  • Chief Whip - Rosie Winterton
  • Shadow Education and Election Coordinator - Andy Burnham
  • Shadow Lord Chancellor, Secretary of State for Justice - Sadiq Khan
  • Shadow Work and Pensions - Douglas Alexander
  • Shadow Business, Innovation and Skills - John Denham
  • Shadow Health - John Healey
  • Shadow Communities and Local Government - Caroline Flint
  • Shadow Defence - Jim Murphy
  • Shadow Energy and Climate Change - Meg Hillier
  • Shadow Leader of the House of Commons - Hilary Benn
  • Shadow Transport - Maria Eagle
  • Shadow Environment, Food and Rural Affairs - Mary Creagh
  • Shadow Chief Secretary to the Treasury - Angela Eagle
  • Shadow Northern Ireland - Shaun Woodward
  • Shadow Scotland - Ann McKechin
  • Shadow Wales - Peter Hain
  • Shadow Culture, Media and Sport - Ivan Lewis
  • Shadow Leader of the House of Lords - Baroness Royall of Blaisdon
  • Shadow Minister for the Olympics - Tessa Jowell
  • Shadow Minister for the Cabinet Office - Liam Byrne
  • Lords Chief Whip - Lord Bassam of Brighton
  • Shadow Attorney-General - Baroness Scotland
  • No comments found

Leave your comments

0 / 500 Character restriction
Your text should be in between 10-500 characters
terms and condition.

Our Events

Our Events
For Rural Services Network events and notable dates, click here.