

Rural Services

All-Party Parliamentary Group on Rural Services 10th September 2024 at 1pm Room Q, Portcullis House, London

INAUGURAL MEETING

1. Present

Constituency **MP Name** Banbury Sean Woodcock **Bexhill and Battle** Dr Kieran Mullan Bishop Auckland Sam Rushworth Bridgewater Ashley Fox Cambourne & Redruth Perran Moon Carlisle Julie Minns Chippenham Sarah Gibson Glastonbury & Somerton Sarah Dyke Herefordshire and South Herefordshire Jesse Norman **High Peak** Jon Pearce Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland Luke Myer **Newton Abbot** Martin Wrigley North Northumberland **David Smith** North Shropshire Helen Morgan North West Cambridgeshire Sam Carling **South Cotswolds** Dr Roz Savage South Devon Caroline Voaden Truro & Falmouth Jayne Kirkham West Lancashire **Ashley Dalton** Whitney Charlie Maynard

In attendance

Kerry Booth, (RSN -Secretariat) plus

Constituency Name

Bexhill and Battle Juan Anzola on behalf of Dr Kieran Mullan MP

Mid Bedfordshire Matthew Cowley on behalf of Blake Stephenson MP

2. Apologies for absence

Constituency MP Name

Calder Valley Josh Fenton-Glynn Hastings and Rye Helena Dollimore

Maldon Rt Hon Sir John Whittingdale OBE

Mid Bedfordshire Blake Stephenson

Mid Buckinghamshire **Greg Smith** Mid Dorset & North Poole Vikki Slade Newcastle-under-Lyme Adam Jogee North Herefordshire Ellie Chowns Ribble Valley Maya Ellis Shrewsbury Julia Buckley Stuart Anderson South Shropshire South West Devon Rebecca Smith

Stratford-on-Avon Manuela Perteghella

West Worcestershire Dame Harriett Baldwin DBE

House of Lords Peer

APPG Member (HofL) Lord John Taylor

APPG Member (HofL) Lord Rupert Carrington
APPG Member (HofL) Lord Ewen Cameron

APPG Member (HofL) Lord James Crathorne KCVO

3. Introduction

Kerry Booth, Chief Executive of the Rural Services Network (Secretariat), welcomed those in attendance. She provided a brief summary to the Rural Services Network and the work of the previous APPG for Rural Services.

4. Appointment of Officers

A vote was held by those present and the following were unanimously elected to the following positions:

Chair: Sarah Dyke MP (Lib Dem)
Vice Chair: Sam Rushworth MP (Labour)

Secretary: Dr Kieran Mullan MP (Conservative)

Treasurer: Joe Morris MP (Labour)

5. Future Work of the Group

There was a wide-ranging discussion about potential priority areas for the work of the APPG to consider.

The following were agreed by all present, as the areas for discussion over the next 12 months (subject to other matters arising needing urgent consideration):

- Rural Fair Funding of Public Services
- Rural Economy (with a focus on growth and skills)
- Rural Transport
- Rural Affordable Housing
- Rural Health and Care

6. Date of Next Meeting:

To be confirmed.

The meeting closed at 1.30 p.m.