Rural Services APPG

All-Party Parliamentary Group on Rural Services 28th January, 2020 at 11.30 a.m. Room N, Portcullis House, London

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

PRESENT

Rt Hon. Philip Dunne MP (Ludlow) Rt Hon Owen Paterson MP (North Shropshire) Baroness Byford Lord Ewan Cameron Chris Loder MP (West Dorset) Flick Drummond MP (Meon Valley) Greg Smith MP (Buckingham) Huw Merriman MP (Bexhill & Battle) Julie Marson MP (Hertford and Stortford) Harriett Baldwin MP (West Worcestershire) Ruth Edwards MP (Rushcliffe) Selaine Saxby MP (North Devon) Rob Butler MP (Aylesbury) Jonny Haseldine (For Anne-Marie Morris MP – Newton Abbot)

In attendance Graham Biggs, MBE (RSN -Secretariat)

APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from:

MP Name	Constituency
Rt Hon David Mundell (APPG Observer)	Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale & Tweeddale
Rt Hon Damian Hinds	East Hampshire
Rt Hon Robert Jenrick (APPG Observer)	Newark
Rt Hon Liam Fox	North Somerset
Bishop Alan (St Albans)	
Peter Aldous	Waveney
Lord Crathorne KCVO	
Richard Bacon	South Norfolk
Rebecca Pow (APPG Observer)	Taunton Deane
Rt Hon Dr Therese Coffey	Suffolk Coastal
Tom Tugendhat	Tonbridge and Malling
Alicia Kearns	Rutland and Melton
Andrew Bridgen	North West Leicestershire
Anne-Marie Morris	Newton Abbot
Jerome Mayhew	Broadland
Julian Sturdy	York Outer
Kevin Hollinrake	Thirsk and Malton
Dr Luke Evans	Bosworth
Richard Holden	North West Durham
Sally-Ann Hart	Hastings and Rye
Simon Fell	Barrow and Furness
Steve Double	St Austell and Newquay
Nigel Evans	Ribble Valley
Danny Kruger	Devizes
Rosie Duffield	Canterbury

1. Introduction

Philip Dunne (Chairman of the APPG in the last Parliament) welcomed those in attendance.

He referred to the work of the Group in the last couple of years including the APPG's investigations in Adult Social Care in the Rural Context and the presentations at the last meeting from young people living in rural areas and organisations which represented them. He drew particular attention to the fact that as the APPG Chair he had – at the invitation of the then Chief Secretary to the Treasury – led a group of rural organisations to put forward rural issues in respect of the then (subsequently postponed) Spending Review. A sign that rural issues and this APPG were being taken seriously.

2. Notes of Previous Meeting

The notes of the meeting held on 7th May, 2019 – Challenges for Young People in Rural Areas – were noted.

3. Appointment of Officers

The following were (without opposition) appointed as the Officers of the Group for the following year:

Chairman: The Rt Hon Philip Dunne MP (Ludlow)

Vice- Chairmen: Rosie Duffield MP (Canterbury) Selaine Saxby MP (North Devon) Scott Mann MP (North Cornwall) Julie Marson MP (Hertford and Stortford) Chris Loder MP (West Dorset) Lord Cameron

Treasurer: Lord Crathorne Secretary: Baroness Byford

4. Parliamentary Vulnerability Day – 10th March 2020 (10.00 a.m. – 2.00 p.m.)

Graham Biggs outlined the programme for the day which was focussed on the issues facing young people in rural areas. It would include a presentation on a Rural England C.I.C report on the issues 16-18 year- old youngsters face in accessing Further Education & Training.

Huw Merriman asked to speak at the event to highlight issues of employment for young people in his constituency

5. Future Work of the Group/Future Meetings

The Group considered a report from Philip Dunne outlining suggested ways for the APPG to work over the next 12 - months.

The suggested processes were agreed.

After discussion the Group agreed that it would first consider issues relating to Connectivity. This would include rural roads, rural transport and accessibility issues for rural residents without a car, and broadband/ mobile phone connectivity.

It was noted that Cornwall Council would be a Pilot authority under the development of a Bus Strategy. It was felt that Baroness Vere – Parliamentary Under Secretary of State at the Department of Transport could be invited to address the Group and that the Chief Executive of First Group could also be invited.

5. Date of Next Meeting

To be confirmed

The meeting closed at 12.50 p.m.